Senior Hurling Championship 2018

After 2 Rounds and facing into a 3 month break, the group tables look like this…


Sunday 22nd April

Senior B Hurling Championship 2018 – Round 2 – Duggan Park

Tynagh Abbey Duniry 0-21    Abbeyknockmoy 3-09

Late Point from Shane Moloney saving the day

Shane Moloney (0-14, 0-08 frees, 01 65); Padraig Brehony (0-03) ; Johnny Conroy (0-2), Ben Moran, Padraig Robinson (0-1)

Saturday 7th April

Senior B Hurling Championship 2018 – Round 1 – Duggan Park

Tynagh Abbey Duniry 2-14    Athenry 1-14

Goals from Brendy Lynch & Shane Moloney securing the win.

Shane Moloney (1-10, 0-10 frees); Brendan Lynch (1-0); Johnny Conroy(0-2), Padraig Robinson (0-2)
Ronan Hardiman (0-8, 0-7 frees); Cathal Keane (1-0); Cian Burke (0-3); Mark Hannon, Patrick Hannon, Martin Cullen (0-1)

Match Report – Darren Kelly in Duggan Park

Shane Moloney’s late goal on Saturday gave Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry the spoils.  When Ronan Hardiman converted a free on 64 minutes to put Athenry 1-14 to 1-13 ahead, it looked enough for Diarmuid Burns’ team.  But as Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry chased an equaliser, they were rewarded with the ultimate score.

Attacking down the left, Padraig Robinson gained possession 60 seconds later before spotting Athenry’s defence open up.  Moloney was on hand to take the pass with only John Grealish to beat for their second major.

After taking the initiative and holding the advantage, it was a bitter blow for Athenry who just couldn’t regain the sliothar in the final stages.  Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry were fielding every delivery and returning it back.  And one more free between the posts by Moloney secured their three-point victory.

Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry took the lead in the first minute through Moloney before Athenry took control.  Cian Burke equalised and two Hardiman strikes made it 0-3 to 0-1 on seven minutes.  Athenry are slowly bring their young names to the forefront and they look comfortable building the margin.

Burke, Mark Hannon, Martin Cullen and Hardiman gave Athenry a 0-7 to 0-1 gap before Johnny Conroy and Moloney ended Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry’s 15-minute drought.  Burke scored for Athenry but when Moloney and Conroy shared three white flags, Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry trailed by just 0-8 to 0-6.

Two Robinson points after a Patrick Hannon score left the interval deficit at just 0-9 to 0-8.  But on 36 minutes, Brendan Lynch rattled the net to put Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry ahead.  Their lead only lasted two minutes.  Cathal Keane beat Fahy for the goal and Athenry led 1-9 to 1-8.

It was a shootout between the respective tallymen and the teams were 1-12 apiece with 10 minutes remaining.  A draw was on the cards and the evidence on show didn’t dispute that point.  Hardiman gave Athenry the lead again only for Moloney to restore for the fifth time two minutes into injury time.

But when Hardiman found the target on 64 minutes, it looked like the insurance score.  But Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry took control for the final three minutes before Robinson set up Moloney for the second goal.  Another free on 66 minutes ensured Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry left with the victory.

Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry: Mike Fahy; Shane Farrell, Padraig Shiel. Paddy McHugo; John Whelan, John Shiel, Gary McHugo; Kevin Moloney, Padraig Breheny; Niall Moloney, Johnny Conroy (0-2), Micheal Dervan; Ben Moran, Shane Moloney (1-10, ten frees), Padraig Robinson (0-2).  Subs used: Colm Larkin for McHugo (12 mins), Brendan Lynch (1-0) for J. Shiel (HT).

Athenry: John Grealish; Eoin Donnellan, Ian O’Shea, Dara Glynn; James Divilly, Conor Burke, Liam Howley; Cian O’Dwyer, Mark Hannon (0-1); Oisin McLoughlin, Patrick Hannon (0-1), Ronan Hardiman (0-8, seven frees); Cathal Keane (1-0), Martin Cullen (0-1), Cian Burke (0-3).  Subs used: Aidan Higgins for Cian Burke (34 mins), Noel Keogh for McLoughlin (44 mins), Jack MacCullagh for Howley (50 mins).

Referee: Michael Conway


Senior A Hurling Championship…

In Group 1

St Thomas



Liam Mellows


Tommy Larkins


In Group 2








Senior B Hurling Championship…

In Group 1








In Group 2


Padraig Pearses






Senior Hurling Championship 2017

Final Tables 2017

Finals 2017


Salthill Hotel
County Senior Hurling Championship 2016

Senior A - Group 1
Senior A - Group 2
Senior B - Group 1
Senior B - Group 2
Senior B Play-Offs 2016
Preliminary Quarter Finals 2016
Quarter Finals 2016
Semi Finals 2016
County Final 2016


Connacht Tribune Match Reports:


Senior B Group 2 – Round 1 – 23 April 2016

TynaghAbbeyDuniry v Carnmore



Senior B Group 2 – Round 2 – 30 April 2016

TynaghAbbeyDuniry v



Senior B Group 2 – Round 3 – 07 May 2016

TynaghAbbeyDuniry v Athenry


Senior B Group 2 – Round 4 – 20 May 2016

TynaghAbbeyDuniry v Clarinbridge



Senior B Group 2 – Round 5 – 08 July2016

TynaghAbbeyDuniry v Mullagh


Senior B -Playoffs – 12 July 2016

TynaghAbbeyDuniry v Beagh

Senior Hurling Championship 2015

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
Quarter Finals 2015
Semi Finals 2015
County Final 2015